<< back

Olie Brice

Bass player Olie Brice leads his own quintet, which released its debut album ‘Immune to Clockwork’ in 2014. The quintet was named as one of the ‘new bands 2014’ in the El Intruso Critics Poll, and was described by Richard Williams as “one of the most interesting and satisfying bands on the current UK sceneâ€. He's also involved in several collaborative projects, including; • a Trio with Tobias Delius – tenor sax, clarinet and Mark Sanders – drums • duos with Achim Kaufmann – piano, Rachel Musson – tenor sax and Tom Challenger – tenor sax • BABs (James Allsopp – bass clarinet, Alex Bonney – laptop) and he's in a few people’s bands, including: • Mike Fletcher Trio (Mike Fletcher – C melody sax, Jeff Williams – drums) • Dee Byrne’s Entopri (Dee Byrne – alto sax, Andre Canniere – trumpet, Rebecca Nash – piano & Matt Fisher – drums) • Alex Ward Quintet (Alex Ward – clarinet, guitar, Rachel Musson – tenor sax, Tom Jackson – bass clarinet, Hannah Marshall – cello) • Loz Speyer’s Inner Space Music (Loz Speyer – trumpet, Chris Biscoe – alto sax, alto clarinet, Rachel Musson – tenor & soprano, Gary Willcox – drums) • Alex Bonney Quartet (Alex Bonney – trumpet, James Allsopp – reeds, Jeff Williams – drums) Other musicians he's appeared with include Tony Malaby, Evan Parker, Paul Dunmall, Ingrid Laubrock, Ken Vandermark, Steve Swell and many others… to get in touch please email olie (at) riseup.net “Brice makes the entire body of his bass sing. He has the ability to deliver a fractal line that is as purposeful as any by the great jazz bassists, but to do so within an entirely abstract setting†– Brian Morton, Point of Departure “imaginative and adventurous†– London Jazz News

Leicester Jazz House East Midlands JAZZ